home

Forum HomeMain  SearchSearch  please registerplease register  Log inLog in  FAQFAQ  RULESRULES  
dsl not available?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Broadband
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xtgold


 
Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 0:25 am    Post subject: dsl not available? Reply with quote

We're sorry, but DSL is not available for your location. We're constantly expanding our services, so please check back later to see if it becomes available for your home.

A friend checked at&t website for his cellar phone(was unlisted)and got that.
Same house old upstairs number disconnected from at&t when they went with comcast cable for phone upstairs,says dsl available.Was it because his number was once unlisted?Neighbors on either side can get dsl,so it's definitely within range.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OG1


 
Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 1193

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:19 am    Post subject: Re: dsl not available? Reply with quote

Yes, use a landline!! You cannot establish DSL availbility through a cell phone number!!! What were you thinking?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtgold


 
Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 21:38 pm    Post subject: land Reply with quote

I never mentioned cell phones,his phone is a landline but was unlisted.
Cellar is the basement in a house,for people that don't live on a slab.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plodr

Administrator
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2001
Posts: 7736

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 22:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, not because it was unlisted but
Quote:
old upstairs number disconnected from at&t
because it is disconnected from the phone company.
To try dsl, you need to drop Comcast phone and get phone service from whatever companies offer telephone service that are not cable companies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CaptainTripps


 
Joined: 18 Sep 2005
Posts: 902

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 0:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Supposedly you can get DSL without having phone service. It's called Dry Loop or Naked DSL. Frontier offers it and from some research, I saw that Verizon and AT&T offer it, too. The only thing is that the customer service people talk in circles and some deny that it's available, other will say it's available but put you on endless hold while they 'connect' you to another tech. Actually I think it's sometimes cheaper to get phone service to get DSL. Frontier charges $68 which is about the cost of their lowest phone rate plus DSL. Call AT&T, write them, email them - hound them until they give you a definite answer. Do a Goggle search for AT&T naked DSL. That's how I found my info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtgold


 
Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:39 am    Post subject: but Reply with quote

plodr wrote:
No, not because it was unlisted but [..]

because it is disconnected from the phone company.

That is the number he can get dsl on,if it were still hooked up
dsl should be the same phone number as currently assigned
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EasyE


 
Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 318

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try calling AT&T? Maybe the website is not accurate. Call multiple times if the csr still says no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Broadband   All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Powered by phpBB    
*freedomlist.com assumes no responsibility for any postings
spacer