home

Forum HomeMain  SearchSearch  please registerplease register  Log inLog in  FAQFAQ  RULESRULES  
Which phone would be better?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Forum Index -> Cellphones, Smartphones, and Plans
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
terenkleon


 
Joined: 06 Apr 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:46 am    Post subject: Which phone would be better? Reply with quote

Is the HTC Thrill, Inspire, or Inpulse. I need one that will last long and has a good battery.

Last edited by terenkleon on Sat Apr 07, 2012 13:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plodr

Administrator
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2001
Posts: 7411

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 13:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You decide:
Comparison of Impulse and Inspire
 http://geekaphone.com/compare/AT-T-Impulse-4G-vs-HTC-Inspire-4G 

As far as I can tell, the Thrill is LG not HTC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Boz

Administrator
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2001
Posts: 8312
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 21:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Which phone would be better? Reply with quote

terenkleon wrote:
Is the HTC Thrill, Inspire, or Inpulse. I need one that will last long and has a good battery.
Do you mean LG Thrill 4G, HTC Inspire 4G, and Huawei Impulse 4G? If so, here is a comparison of all 3:  http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/compare.p...;id%5B%5D= 
_________________
..............
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EasyE


 
Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 298

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 16:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm. OP added to his post a link to a phone card seller in Canada. Somehow I suspect this person did not come to this forum solely for help on a phone choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plodr

Administrator
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2001
Posts: 7411

PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2012 18:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Link removed by plodr.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pete

๑۞๑
 
Joined: 29 Apr 2002
Posts: 2608

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

plodr wrote:
Link removed by plodr.

It appears that the OP could be a spambot:
From the stopforumspam.com/ database
Quote:
Found 1 entry for "terenkleon"

Date IP Address Username Email Location
14-Feb-12 15:40 117.217.82.52 terenkleon terenkleon@gmail.com India


At another forum that gets a lot of spambots, we check every new member with an offshore IP address, against spambot lists.

Most up to date -  http://www.stopforumspam.com/search 

Searches several lists -  http://avant.it-mate.co.uk/dl/Tools/Spambo.../index.php 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EasyE


 
Joined: 20 Aug 2006
Posts: 298

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it is a spambot, then they are getting good at it. Reason is that the exactly worded question was posted on Yahoo Answers on the same day. So the bot would have had to taken the question from over there and post it here.

 http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20120405205822AAFFgpw 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pete

๑۞๑
 
Joined: 29 Apr 2002
Posts: 2608

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 13:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EasyE wrote:
If it is a spambot, then they are getting good at it. Reason is that the exactly worded question was posted on Yahoo Answers on the same day. So the bot would have had to taken the question from over there and post it here.

 http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20120405205822AAFFgpw 

Actually, spambots are getting very sophisticated...
They can do e-mail verification, and with character recognition software a relatively clear "capcha".

However, as an ordinary member, I can only check the username. An administrator can also see if the IP address and e-mail address are the same or similar.

Or... If the OP is a live person he/she can read this topic and reply with a denial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plodr

Administrator
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2001
Posts: 7411

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 14:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pete, only the first digit of the IP matches and stopforumspam has no record matching the IP so we just have to wiait and see.

Does a bot come back later and edit a post to add a link? The link was not there until a delay of 5 hours when the edit was done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
pete

๑۞๑
 
Joined: 29 Apr 2002
Posts: 2608

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 15:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

plodr wrote:
Pete, only the first digit of the IP matches and stopforumspam has no record matching the IP so we just have to wiait and see.

If, the second number is 216, the IP is from the same provider's bloc, that's a strong indicator.

Most conclusive would be if a working e-mail address is a match. That's more unique than a username or IP address.

Quote:
Does a bot come back later and edit a post to add a link? The link was not there until a delay of 5 hours when the edit was done.

I haven't seen that one yet, but it's possible.
Clever.... program a bot to post an innocent looking message, then change it to spam when the moderators aren't watching it anymore. It might also foil a software solution that we use at the other forum. If a new member makes a post containing a link, it must be approved by a moderator, before other members can view it. If the link is added later...I'm not sure.

This may sound like unfair profiling, but at an English speaking forum, I'd be very suspicious of any IP not from the US, UK, Australia, or Canada. I check them out, even if the new member looks otherwise legitimate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plodr

Administrator
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2001
Posts: 7411

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 16:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, the 2nd number is not 216 but it traces back to a location in India.

It is not blacklisted at most every site, putting the IP in here and allowing it to check
 http://whatismyipaddress.com/blacklist-check 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Post new topic  Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Cellphones, Smartphones, and Plans   All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Powered by phpBB ©    
*freedomlist.com assumes no responsibility for any postings
spacer